Skip to content

Day 1 Genesis 6 Matthew 6

20 January, 2015

Ok, I’m running a day late

Genesis 6

Humans are being watched by angels – sons of God – and are believed to be “fair” and took them as wives.  It is now that God deems the longevity of man should be curbed and limited to 120 years.

The Lord saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination and intention of all human thinking was only evil continually. Mix angels and man and you get corrupted beings? In the previous verse they were mighty men who were of old, men of renown.

Every imagination and intention of all human thinking was only evil continually. Man really went down in God’s plan. I can’t imagine seeing something you had a part in creating becoming everything loathsome – to the point where you consider it’s destruction.

So the Lord said, I will destroy, blot out, and wipe away mankind, whom I have created from the face of the ground—not only man, [but] the beasts and the creeping things and the birds of the air—for it grieves Me and makes Me regretful that I have made them. That is a bad place to be in.

But Noah found grace (favor) in the eyes of the Lord. Yay! One person still had a heart after God.  Noah walked [in habitual fellowship] with God.  I can’t wait until I get to do that in a physical form.

For all humanity had corrupted their way upon the earth and lost their true direction. So we have got a direction that we should be heading in – there is a point to our existence!

14 Make yourself an ark of gopher or cypress wood; make in it rooms (stalls, pens, coops, nests, cages, and compartments) and cover it inside and out with pitch (bitumen).

15 And this is the way you are to make it: the length of the ark shall be 300 cubits, its breadth 50 cubits, and its height 30 cubits [that is, 450 ft. x 75 ft. x 45 ft.].

16 You shall make a roof or [b]window [a place for light] for the ark and finish it to a cubit [at least 18 inches] above—and the [c]door of the ark you shall put in the side of it; and you shall make it with lower, second, and third stories. The bible might have been a bit vague in some things, some timelines but it’s very specific in its instructions here. So specific a Dutch man has recreated it and it was blogged here. Johan Huibers site is here. I have to admit – I should put it on my bucketlist.

Noah gathered the animals, the feed and did as God directed him – *spoilers – now I should probably note here – some scholars say that it had never rained on the earth – hence the rainbow being significant.

Matthew 6

Take care not to do your good deeds publicly or before men, in order to be seen by them; otherwise you will have no reward [[a]reserved for and awaiting you] with and from your Father Who is in heaven. I guess this is why I am doing this blog to a possible empty audience – I somehow hold onto the hope that it will do ME good – it will help ME focus on God and make me a stronger person in that when I feel less than strong in my own efforts.

7 And when you pray, do not heap up phrases (multiply words, repeating the same ones over and over) as the Gentiles do, for they think they will be heard for their much speaking.

Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask Him. I feel like Moses *spoilers* with my limited and hesitant speech – my non-fancy words and sometimes simple thinking.  I hate how I seem to trip over words in work when I have to present stories on an almost daily basis – it keeps me humble.

Pray, therefore, like this: Our Father Who is in heaven, hallowed (kept holy) be Your name.

10 Your kingdom come, Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.

11 Give us this day our daily bread.

12 And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven ([e]left, remitted, and let go of the debts, and have [f]given up resentment against) our debtors.

13 And lead (bring) us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one. For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen. And so God teaches us how to pray…

Worship and thanks

Ask for what we need for the day ahead

Forgive us – just as we have to forgive others – don’t hold grudges

And temptation – all too easily sucked in by new and flattery – it’s all God’s afterall

I try and remember to be grateful to God because even if I don’t understand the blessing I have to hope that it is all for my best – to make me a better person no matter the pain I may feel in the moment.  Further along in the New Testament we are shown other ways to pray but it revolves around the same theme – grateful for what we have and grace to continue.

Fasting – now that’s a whole new ball game in our day – I might visit that again some other time.

21 For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also. Do we pause and think about what we really value and what we should value.

33 But seek ([z]aim at and strive after) first of all His kingdom and His righteousness ([aa]His way of doing and being right), and then all these things [ab]taken together will be given you besides.

34 So do not worry or be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will have worries and anxieties of its own. Sufficient for each day is its own trouble.  Jesus wouldn’t have said this if it weren’t an issue.

So where do you sit? Do you seek God in all your dumb words and behaviour or do you seek your own desires?  So often I am brought to v34 when I can so easily lose myself in the panic that is normal to me.  When I stress less I get answers to get me through the day.

Selah

P

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

