Skip to content

Day 2

13 January, 2015

Genesis 2

I didn’t get a chance to sit down to look at this chapter until I was waiting for friends who were delayed.  My aim when I read was just to read, to get an overview of the chapter and not worry about making notes.

My brain pinged at all of the visuals – the evocative descriptions, the wordiness and how the words just seemed to resonate in song as the story rose and fell. Let me show you…

But there went up a mist (fog, vapor) from the land and watered the whole surface of the ground—

Then the Lord God formed man from the [a]dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath or spirit of life, and man became a living being.

Have you ever been caught up in a fog cloud?  To me it’s a magical quiet place of thick cloud which silences the world in blanket and just soaks the land without the noise of the rain.  We are currently in the middle of summer but this evening a cloud bank has covered our state and our view from our hilltop home has vanished into a cloud.  The land is soaking but I love it.

I just picture God using hands to form man from dust and then the intimacy of breathing life into the model to become a living being.  Sure I wasn’t formed in this way – I began (in my mind) as a mistake in timing to a sick mother and parents who were past their idea of new parents but if I trust that God has a plan for me then I was created for some kind of purpose and there was intention in my being just as there was intention in Adam’s creation.

Now I am not going to pretend to know more than bible scholars here but I know from previous study that the only river named the same as in this passage of the bible is the Euphrates, so it gives historians some basis for placing Eden over towards Israel, Iran and Iraq but that is all we really know.  Where the branches of the river are seem to be contentious points.

We can blame a man for some of the beasties names though because here:

18 Now the Lord God said, It is not good (sufficient, satisfactory) that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper (suitable, adapted, complementary) for him.

19 And out of the ground the Lord God formed every [wild] beast and living creature of the field and every bird of the air and brought them to Adam to see what he would call them; and whatever Adam called every living creature, that was its name.

While we might find companionship with animals they are not meant to “complete” us.  I know I bicker with my hubby way too often and this last couple of years has been extremely trying for both of us as we battle with depression but when we work, oh my, we sing!

I know I could dig deeper into Genesis 2 but I’ll leave it there for now.

Matthew 2

Jesus is born in a little town called Bethlehem which is jam packed for the census. Herod, the king, gets wind that there are some wise men, magi, seeking a star that was guiding them – how peculiar would that be for something like that to happen today.  The “wise men” might be taken as scientists or whackos.  Either way, Herod believed his kingship was being threatened.  Enough to commit mass murder of boys under the age of 2 in his kingdom.

This act caused Joseph to be told by angels to flee the country – to go to Egypt, become a refugee.  In Australia there is a big deal made of illegal refugees, but just as there were people fleeing Israel due to Herod’s order so too did Jews from Europe when Hitler began his genocide.  It’s something to ponder about the potential in the people we accept or reject into our countries.

It must have been a horrible time for the families in the land, I would hate to think of something like that happening when I was a young mum of my first child – or any of my kids that fell within that age bracket. To prove a point of how little information Herod had had was that he was targeting boys under the age of two.  The information wasn’t the most precise but the wise men were able to locate this baby in amongst the town.

A number of years later Joseph heard a tender call to say they could return home, Herod and his out moded thinking and actions was over.  Joseph went back to the area of Galilee because he was afraid of returning to Judea and this lead to the family settling in Nazareth – like the nowhere town but it again fulfilled prophesy.

Plenty to be thinking about tonight – creation and refugees

Selah – pause and think on this

Pip

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

