Skip to content

The last to know

9 July, 2014

I found out tonight that my Uni boy got 2 commendables and 2 distinctions in his first semester this year.

I don’t know when he found out but I’m hurt how I found out. I happened to go onto my Echofon (the Twitter app I use) and saw my hubby’s update.

I then flicked over to Facebook where I have his feed hidden due to a plethora of shipping news I wasn’t interested in.

The same status with tags is there. Did I get a phone call? No. Did I get a text message asking me to call either of them? No. Nothing. Silence.

All hubby’s Facebook friends “liking” the status and a few congratulatory comments.

I’m hurt. Hurt that neither told me. Mostly hurt that hubby didn’t tell me. I mean our son doesn’t blow his own trumpet and it wouldn’t be like him to phone and brag.

And I’m angry. I feel like putting up a snarky response. I feel like sending a spitting text. I feel like hurting him back by being mean.

I really do want to end it all. On him being so self centred that he wouldn’t share this news with me. To allow us a moment of pride in our son who chose to move away from home to study.

Has our relationship sunk so low that we can’t even share high points?

Devastated

Pip

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

