Skip to content

Moving out of the comfort zone

31 May, 2013

I received a phone call from the supervisor in Human Resources asking if I’d like a secondment being offered. It’s in an area that he first raised over a year and a half ago as a potential place for me to work so after 3 applications (and 3 knockbacks) and a training course I was thinking it just wasn’t going to happen for me.

It confuses my plans to study Psychology as it’s a different field of study and work but it’s one in which I had a fantastic day’s trial in, loved the course and felt as if I was finally being treated as a peer rather than someone who didn’t have any experience worth listening too (yes, my own hang-ups).

I tried to find some people who have been on this journey to talk to and discuss the opportunity but couldn’t find them. I called hubby and told him and he was delighted for me telling me to “go for it”. I went to speak to the course instructor (who was finally in his office and clarified a point he’d made on my critique) and the excitement grew.

I could barely contain the grin but when I’d first been told about the position I blinked back a tear thinking I would have to leave this team that I’ve become so fond of during my rehab time. However, I have also been finding the work beginning to bore me and I think I’m ready to move on.

J was consulted in this decision making though by HR so I went to “pick a bone with her” and just catch up telling her I was looking forward to it too. So it’s out of uniform and into a suit at some stage in the near future. It will be a challenge to find the clothes!

What freaks me out about the new position is that it’s out of my comfort zone. It’s a whole new way of thinking about the legal process, a whole new language and a whole new team to get along with.

Sure I know a couple of familiar faces in the department but it’s scary making the move. As I’ve been told by the HR supervisor “It’s up to you not to stuff it up”.

An email I received just yesterday said that “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me, Philippians 4:13” and assuring me that I could do this challenge with “bold assurance”.

Now I just have to wait for the back room maneuvering to be done so I can find out when the move might take place and a bit more of the logistics to the job.

Eek!

Pip

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

