Skip to content

Positive psychology

24 March, 2013

I’m trying to make my way through Martin Seligman’s book, Flourish. It basically centres on positive psychology.

So why therefore am I sitting in the parent’s room at church while set up goes on around me?

My head throbs. I’ve just taken Nurofen to take the edge off it. I feel queasy. Probably from too much chocolate icecream earlier.

Why am I not helping move chairs around? My heel on my boot is broken I’ve found. My head hurts. My excuses are long but I just don’t want to face people.

Seligman says humans thrive through relationship. One chapter opens “Close your eyes. Call up the face of someone still alive who years ago did something or said something that changed your life for the better. Someone who you never properly thanked; someone you could meet face to face next week. Got a face?”

I couldn’t think of that person. I couldn’t think of an act. All I can think of is how isolated I was when we first arrived in this state. My life revolved around my very young family.

Rather than dwell on what I didn’t have or can’t remember I just have to move on. Both in the book and in my life.

During the week I read some excerpts from Lioness Arising and Girls with Swords by Lisa Bevere. Those books, particularly captured my imagination but more importantly also put something in my spirit to think bigger and beyond myself.

Lisa is not a psychologist but that doesn’t diminish what she shares. Another author I’ve come across is Dr Caroline Leaf. She is a neuropsychologist and brings the God-factor into her books. I can’t wait to get into her books more!

While it’s not quite surrounding myself with positive relationships it is positive readings and hopefully as I begin to get better (whenever that happens) maybe then I will want, and be able, to reach out to others.

Surrounding myself

Pip

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

